Shoriful Excel In BPL Opener With a Hat-trick

Pacer Shoriful Islam is the seventh bowler to earn a hat-trick in the Bangladesh Premier League as he achieved the feat for Durdanto Dhaka against Comilla Victorians in the opening game of 10th edition of the lone franchise-based tournament of the country at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka on Friday. 

In the last three balls of the innings, Shoriful claimed three wickets to register his maiden hat-trick in the format— Khushdil Shah, Roston Chase, and Mahidul Islam after Dhaka won the toss and elected to field first, sending the Victorians to bat.

Mohammad Sami achieved the feat for the first time in the tournament during 2012.

Al Amin Hossain, Aliss Islam, Wahab Riaz and Andre Russell and Mrittonjoy Chowdhury are the others bowlers to pick hat-trick in BPL.

Shoriful is the eighth Bangladeshi bowler to grab a hat-trick in T20 cricket. Al Amin picked hat-trick on two occasions in shorter-format cricket while Aliss Islam, Manik Khan, Kamrul Islam, Alauddin Babu and Mrittonjoy Chowdhury are the other bowlers to pick hat-trick bowlers in the shorter-format game.

In the opening match of BPL 2024, Dhaka successfully restricted the Victorians to 143 for six on the back of Imrul Kayes 66 runs and Towhid Hridoy’s 47.

Durdanto Dhaka pacer Shoriful Islam becomes only the seventh bowler to claim a hat-trick in the history of Bangladesh Premier League.


Stay Ahead in the Game with KrikyaNews! Don’t miss out on any action from the world of sports. At KrikyaNews, we bring you the latest and most comprehensive coverage of cricket and other sports in Bangladesh. Click here to subscribe for real-time updates and expert analyses, ensuring you’re always in the know. Be the first to get the hottest sports news and insights – join the KrikyaNews community today!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *