Rangpur Beat Barishal In One-Wicket Thriller 

Table toppers Rangpur Riders clinched their eighth successive victory in the ongoing Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2024 after beating Fortune Barishal by just 1-wicket and 3 balls to spare in a thrilling match at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram on Monday night. 

Rangpur pacer Abu Hider Rony showed a brilliant performance as he claimed 5-12 while his teammate Hasan Mahmud took 2-31 as they restricted Barishal to 151-9 in the stipulated 20 overs after they decided to bat first. 

Kyle Mayers smashed 46 while captain Tamim Iqbal and Tom Banton scored 33 and 26 runs respectively. 

However, since the dismissal of Banton off Neesham, Barishal witnessed a heavy batting collapse in their innings as they lost nine wickets for 34 runs to lose the early momentum in the contest.

In reply, Rangpur got off to a rollicking start as Brandon King hit three fours and four sixes to score 22-ball 45 while Shakib Al Hasan also made a quick-fire 29 off 15 balls to help their side reach 74-2 in the sixth over. 

Barishal bowlers led by Mehidy Hasan Miraz (3-24) then hit back in the contest as they took few wickets in the crucial moment that limited Rangpur to 118-6 in the 14th over. 

But, Jimmy Neesham then struck 28 off 17 balls while Dwaine Pretorius scored 13 runs but Barishal took regular wickets to reduce Rangpur 149-9 in the 19th over. 

Hasan Mahmud then hit the winning boundary off Mohammad Saifuddin in the third ball of the final over to take Rangpur to 155-9 and hand Barishal fifth defeat in the tournament. 

With the day’s win, Rangpur also took a revenge of their first-leg match against Barishal which they lost by five wickets in Dhaka on 20 January.


Stay Ahead in the Game with KrikyaNews! Don’t miss out on any action from the world of sports. At KrikyaNews, we bring you the latest and most comprehensive coverage of cricket and other sports in Bangladesh. Click here to subscribe for real-time updates and expert analyses, ensuring you’re always in the know. Be the first to get the hottest sports news and insights – join the KrikyaNews community today!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *