Fizz, Taskin, And Hridoy in LPL 2024, Shoriful to Join Soon!

South Asia is the powerhouse of cricket, having historical rivalries like India-Pakistan, along with Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, and even Nepal, the newcomer with impressive performance! However, in the age of the triumph of a shorter version of cricket, the Franchise Cricket League is getting more and more popular in cricket-loving nations. Like the IPL in India, PSL in Pakistan, and BPL in Bangladesh, Sri Lanka also started their own franchise T20 league, “Lankan Premier League,” in 2020.

Though Sri Lanka and Bangladesh seem to be a new rivalry in South Asian Cricket, the participation of Sri Lankans in the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) and Bangladeshis in the Lankan Premier League (LPL) is a good sign for the overall development of cricket. Like in previous years, cricketers from Bangladesh are participating in the LPL 2024, the latest version of this league. Let’s explore more about the Bangladesh players, their teams, and matches.

High Hopes vs The Practical Scenario: A Reality Check

While IPL remains one of the most luxurious franchise leagues in the entire cricket world, LPL is an option where cricketers can flourish in front of a global audience. It was expected that Bangladeshi players would grab the chance to highlight themselves every year, which didn’t happen practically. Names like Tamim Iqbal and Mushfiqur Rahim remain ignored in LPL.

Even the young talents with impressive performances in the national cricket team cannot attract the teams this time. Does this reflect the poor performance of Bangladesh Cricket or the questionable relationship management of the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB)? It’s worth mentioning that the name BCB often comes in the media for its headstrong nature in giving NOCs to the players for playing leagues like IPL, LPL, etc.!

Bangladeshi Cricketers to Star in LPL 2024

So, who are the Bangladeshi players in LPL this year?

  1. Taskin Ahmed: Colombo Strikers
  2. Mustafizur Rahman: Dambulla Thunders
  3. Towhid Hridoy: Dambulla Thunders

Surprisingly, Bangladesh cricket’s ultimate representative, Shakib Al Hasan, is not here. He is not in LPL this time because he signed a contract with Los Angeles Knight Riders in Major League Cricket (MLC). Another player, Liton Das, is not on this list, as no team showed interest in getting him this year!

A recent announcement has cleared that the Tiger Pacer Shoriful Islam is going to play for the Kandy Falcons in this edition.

Teammates of Bangladesh Players in LPL 2024

Taskin didn’t get the NOC from BCB to play in the IPL for consecutive years. However, he finally got that for the LPL, which he thinks is good for his career.

Mustafizur Raham is one of the most prominent names in Bangladesh Cricket after Shakib Al Hasan and Tamim Iqbal. He has performed impressively in franchise leagues and the highly competitive IPL environment for many years. His performance in Chennai Super Kings in IPL 2024 was particularly remarkable, thanks to the guidance of legend Mahendra Singh Dhoni!

Towhid Hridoy, with a fantastic performance in the T20 World Cup 2024 and consistent performance with the bat, has pushed himself to a decent position and joins Mustafizur Rahman in Dambulla Thunders this time.

Colombo Sixers Squad

  • Thisara Perera
  • Chamika Karunaratne
  • Nipun Dhananjaya
  • Sadeera Samarawickrama
  • Shadab Khan
  • Glenn Phillips
  • Chamika Gunasekara
  • Dunith Wellalage
  • Rahmanullah Gurbaz
  • Taskin Ahmed
  • Angelo Perera
  • Shevon Daniel
  • Binura Fernando
  • Garuka Sanketh
  • Matheesha Pathirana
  • Shehan Fernando
  • Kavin Bandara
  • Isitha Bijesundara
  • Mohammad Wasim
  • Allah Ghazanfar

Dambulla Strikers Squad

  • Kusal Janith Perera
  • Dushan Hemantha
  • Praveen Jayawickrama
  • Dilshan Madushanka
  • Nuwan Thushara
  • Mustafizur Rahman
  • Ibrahim Zadran
  • Lahiru Udara
  • Akila Dananjaya
  • Danushka Gunathilaka
  • Nuwanidu Fernando
  • Nuwan Pradeep
  • Ramesh Silva
  • Lahiru Madushanka
  • Sonal Dinusha
  • Reeza Hendricks
  • Mark Chapman
  • Sachitha Jayathilake
  • Towhid Hridoy
  • Nimesh Vimukthi
  • Mohammad Nabi
  • Asanka Manoj
  • Chamindu Wijesinghe

Scheduled Matches of Colombo Strikers and Dambulla Thunders

Like CSK has got new followers from Bangladesh because of Mustafizur Rahman, LPL, along with Colombo Strikers and Dambulla Thunders, is supposed to increase their TRP with Bangladeshi cricket fans who are keen to follow their player’s performance in franchise cricket.

For those who want to watch the performance of Bangladeshi cricketers, here is the schedule of the matches to follow:

  • Galle Titans vs Colombo Strikers on 03.07.2024
  • Kandy vs Colombo Strikers on 06.07.2024
  • Colombo Strikers vs Dambulla Thunders on 07.07.2024
  • Colombo Strikers vs Jaffna Kings on 10.07.2024
  • Colombo Strikers vs. Jaffna Kings on 14.07.2024
  • Colombo Strikers vs Jaffna Kings on 15.07.2024
  • Colombo Strikers vs Dambulla Thunders on 16.07.2024

All the matches start in the evening in Sri Lanka. Moreover, more matches depend on how these teams perform and whether they can advance to the next phase.

What to Expect from These Players?

Bangladeshi fans expect a remarkable performance so that Bangladesh cricket gets highlighted in a Sri Lankan cricketer-dominated league, as several close encounters with these players were observed. This time, not many get the opportunity to play.

Still, suppose Towhid, Taskin, and Mustafiz perform well, and their teams reach the finals, where they play vital roles. In that case, the image of Bangladesh Cricket in the international arena will be elevated!

Some Final Thoughts

Franchise cricket is an opportunity to get experience playing against teams from different countries. In LPL, there are players from Afghanistan, Pakistan, and other countries. This is a big chance for players to learn how the teams set their plans, how to hold their nerve in intense moments, and more.

When the fans expect to see their favorite player playing in reputed leagues, showing notable performance is the only option to get highlighted.  Let’s see how the stars from Bangladesh dominate the LPL 2024 and whether they mark this year as remarkable with their impressive performance in the Lankan Premier League 2024!


Stay Ahead in the Game with KrikyaNews! Don’t miss out on any action from the world of sports. At KrikyaNews, we bring you the latest and most comprehensive coverage of cricket and other sports in Bangladesh. Click here to subscribe for real-time updates and expert analyses, ensuring you’re always in the know. Be the first to get the hottest sports news and insights – join the KrikyaNews community today!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *