BPL 2024: Fortune Barishal Defeat Rangpur, Progress to Final

Fortune Barishal secured a convincing 6-wicket win in the second qualifier of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) on Wednesday, knocking out Rangpur Riders and booking their spot in the final. Despite Shamim Hossain’s explosive 20-ball fifty for the Riders, their target of 150 wasn’t enough. Barishal calmly chased down the total, anchored by a composed unbeaten 47 from Mushfiqur Rahim, with nine balls to spare.

This victory marked Fortune Barishal’s second consecutive win, following their triumph over Chattogram Challengers in the eliminator, propelling them to the second qualifier. It’s the fourth appearance in a BPL final for Barishal, although it’s the second final for the Fortune franchise. On the other hand, former champions Rangpur missed out on another shot at the title despite dominating the league phase with nine wins in 12 matches.

Rangpur’s bowling unit aimed to make things difficult for Barishal after setting a modest target of 150. Despite early setbacks, Barishal’s innings never looked in jeopardy, even with the occasional threat posed by Fazalhaq Farooqi and Abu Hider. The partnership between Kyle Mayers and David Miller, alongside Mushfiqur’s steady innings, ensured Barishal maintained the required run rate to secure victory.

Earlier in the match, Shamim’s rapid fifty off 20 balls provided Rangpur with a competitive total, particularly considering their struggles at 112 runs with three wickets remaining after 18 overs. Shamim’s explosive 19th over against Obed McCoy turned the tide, boosting Rangpur’s total with 26 runs, including three sixes and two fours. Despite Shamim’s standout performance, the rest of Rangpur’s batting lineup failed to make significant contributions.

Top three batters managed only 11 runs collectively, with the subsequent three adding just 43. Shamim remained unbeaten on 59, with James Neesham as the second-highest scorer with 28. Barishal’s bowlers, particularly James Fuller and Mohammad Saifuddin, performed admirably, with Fuller claiming three wickets and Saifuddin taking two. Barishal now faces Comilla Victorians in the final, scheduled for March 1, with Comilla aiming for another championship win while Barishal seeks their inaugural BPL title.


Stay Ahead in the Game with KrikyaNews! Don’t miss out on any action from the world of sports. At KrikyaNews, we bring you the latest and most comprehensive coverage of cricket and other sports in Bangladesh. Click here to subscribe for real-time updates and expert analyses, ensuring you’re always in the know. Be the first to get the hottest sports news and insights – join the KrikyaNews community today!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *